Quick answer: Leeds, Cumberland and Principality Building Societies lend up to 75% of a holiday let's value and Furness up to 80%, so a deposit of at least 20% to 25% at these lenders. The expected holiday rent must cover the loan by 125% to 170%, with Leeds, Cumberland and Principality testing at a rate of 5.5% or more, according to criteria they published in 2026. Since April 2025, HMRC taxes holiday lets like other rental property.
Guestwise is a short-let management company, not a mortgage broker or lender, and this page is not mortgage advice. This page sets out what lenders, HMRC and the FCA publish, with a link to each source. Criteria and rates change often, so check with the lender or a broker before you apply.
Which type of mortgage do lenders offer for each situation?
| Your situation | What lenders publish |
|---|---|
| Buying a property to let to holiday guests | A holiday let mortgage. Lenders assess the property on expected holiday rent rather than your salary alone (see the criteria table below). |
| Letting the home you live in, or your current home, on Airbnb | Your existing lender usually needs to agree first. Nationwide says you need its permission and adds 0.5% to a fixed or tracker rate while the home is let (Nationwide). Santander's consent-to-let conditions allow holiday lets with stays of up to 4 weeks (Santander, May 2026). Our guide to asking your lender for consent covers this step by step. |
| Switching an existing holiday let to a new deal | A holiday let remortgage, assessed on the same rental cover test as a purchase. |
What do lenders ask for? Five lenders compared
These are the published holiday let criteria of five UK lenders, read on each lender's own site in October 2026. Most are written for brokers, which is why the wording is technical.
On a phone, swipe the table sideways to see all nine columns.
| Lender | Maximum loan | Rental cover test | Stress rate | Minimum income | Owner use | Limited company | Other limits | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Leeds Building Society | 75% (60% above £750k, to £1m). 70% for first-time landlords | Rent must cover 170% of interest. Rent is the average of high, mid and low season weekly rates, times 30 weeks | Product rate + 2%, minimum 5.5% (see criteria) | £40,000 (£60,000 joint) | Not stated | No | No new lending in North Norfolk and parts of North Yorkshire | Source Criteria |
| Cumberland Building Society | 75%, including fees | 145% for individuals, 125% for limited companies, after taking 20% off gross rent | Higher of 5.5% or product rate + 2%, on deals under 5 years | £25,000 joint | Not stated | Yes | England, Scotland and Wales. Loans £75,000 to £6m | Source |
| Principality Building Society | 75% | Rent must cover 145% of interest, using the average of seasonal weekly rates over 30 weeks | Product rate + 2% on 2 and 3-year deals, product rate on 5-year fixes, minimum 5.5% | None | Up to 2 months a year | Not stated | England and Wales. Maximum 2 mortgaged holiday lets | Source |
| Furness Building Society | 80% | Rent must be at least 125% of the monthly payment at the initial rate, using 50% of the gross rent a holiday let agent projects | Initial pay rate | £30,000 earned income | Up to 90 days a year | Not stated | Mainland UK. No holiday parks. Maximum 4 holiday let mortgages | Source |
| Hodge | Not stated on the page read | Rent must cover 145% of interest | 5.5% | None | Up to 90 days a year | Not stated | Leases of 85 years or more. Maximum 3 holiday lets. Minimum value £100,000 | Source |
"Rental cover" means the expected rent divided by the interest at the stress rate. A 145% test means £145 of rent for every £100 of interest.
How much can you borrow on a holiday let?
The lenders below start from the expected rent, not the purchase price. Leeds Building Society asks a letting agent for high, mid and low season weekly rates, averages the three and multiplies by 30 weeks, then requires that rent to cover the interest by 170% (Leeds lending criteria). Principality uses the same 30-week average with a 145% test, and its own worked example uses weekly rates of £700, £500 and £300 (Principality).
Using those example rates from Principality, the 30-week rent is £15,000 a year. At 145% cover and a 5.5% stress rate, the largest interest-only loan that passes the test is about £188,000. Principality's own example uses a 2-year fix stressed at 8%, which gives a maximum loan of £129,310 from the same rents (Principality). The stress rate makes a large difference, so the calculator below lets you try both.
Try the rental cover test
Enter the weekly rents a holiday let agent would quote for your property. This uses the 30-week seasonal average method described by Leeds and Principality Building Societies. The calculator illustrates the published method. The result is not a mortgage offer or advice, and the lender's maximum loan to value still applies.
What are holiday let mortgage rates in 2026?
Leeds Building Society listed these holiday let fixed rates on 21 September 2026 (Leeds Building Society):
| Deal | Up to 60% loan to value | Up to 75% loan to value |
|---|---|---|
| 2-year fixed | 6.20% | 6.50% |
| 5-year fixed | 6.04% | 6.19% |
Across the market, the most recent figures from Moneyfacts, published in August 2024, counted 445 holiday let mortgage deals from 34 lenders, with an average fixed rate of 6.20% (Moneyfacts). In August 2020 Moneyfacts counted 74 holiday let deals (Moneyfacts, January 2023).
Holiday let or buy-to-let mortgage for a holiday home?
The difference is how the rent is assessed. Leeds and Principality Building Societies base a holiday let mortgage on seasonal weekly rates over 30 weeks from a letting agent's projection (Principality). A buy-to-let mortgage is based on rent from a tenancy. Since April 2025 HMRC taxes holiday lets in the same way as long lets (HMRC), so the choice now depends on how the property will be let rather than on tax.
What changed on holiday let tax in April 2025?
HMRC abolished the furnished holiday lettings tax regime from 6 April 2025 for income tax and capital gains tax, and from 1 April 2025 for corporation tax (HMRC policy paper). According to HMRC:
- Individuals now get relief on mortgage interest at the 20% basic rate only, the same as long-let landlords. HMRC says companies are not subject to this restriction (HMRC clarification).
- Holiday let income is now treated like other property income across the UK.
- HMRC says Business Asset Disposal Relief, rollover relief and gift relief are generally no longer available for holiday lets from 6 April 2025, with limited exceptions such as a business that actually stopped before that date (HMRC CG73505).
- New spending on furniture and equipment no longer qualifies for capital allowances. Replacement of Domestic Items Relief applies instead.
- VAT, council tax and business rates were not changed by the abolition.
Our guide to how short-let income is taxed covers this in more detail.
What could your home earn?
Free and instant. Nobody rings you unless you ask them to.
Is a holiday let mortgage regulated?
The FCA's guidance on buy-to-let lending defines consumer buy-to-let as a buy-to-let agreement not entered into "wholly or predominantly for the purposes of a business" (FCA Handbook PERG 4.10B). The guidance does not mention holiday lets by name. Ask the lender or broker whether a product is regulated, because that decides which FCA mortgage rules apply.
Does it matter where the property is?
- England: GOV.UK says a national register for short lets is not yet in force and is now expected to begin in March 2027. Your local planning authority decides whether planning permission is needed (GOV.UK).
- Wales: to pay business rates rather than council tax, a self-catering property must be available to let for 252 days and actually let for 182 days in the last 12 months. From 1 April 2026 an average over 2 or 3 years can be used (Business Wales). Councils can charge a council tax premium of up to 300% on second homes (Welsh Government).
- Scotland: each short-let property needs its own licence before taking bookings (Scottish Government). The Scottish Government says that in a control area, letting a home that is not your main residence also needs planning permission (Scottish Government).
Lenders also limit where they lend. Principality lends in England and Wales only, and Leeds Building Society is not taking new holiday let lending in North Norfolk and parts of North Yorkshire, according to their criteria.
Frequently asked questions
What is a holiday let mortgage?
A holiday let mortgage is a loan for a property you let to holiday guests for short stays rather than to a tenant. Leeds and Principality Building Societies work out how much you can borrow from expected holiday rent across low, mid and high seasons, according to their published criteria. A buy-to-let mortgage is assessed on rent from a tenancy instead.
How much deposit do I need for a holiday let mortgage?
Leeds, Cumberland and Principality Building Societies publish a maximum loan of 75% of the value, and Furness publishes 80%, so a deposit of at least 20% to 25% at these lenders, according to criteria checked in October 2026. Leeds caps first-time landlords at 70%.
What are holiday let mortgage rates in 2026?
Leeds Building Society listed holiday let fixed rates from 6.04% to 6.50% on 21 September 2026. The most recent market-wide figure from Moneyfacts, published in August 2024, was an average fixed rate of 6.20% across 445 holiday let deals.
Do I need a minimum income for a holiday let mortgage?
It depends on the lender. Leeds Building Society asks for £40,000 for one applicant, Furness for £30,000 and Cumberland for £25,000 joint. Principality and Hodge publish no minimum income, according to criteria checked in October 2026.
Can I stay in my own holiday let?
Some lenders allow limited personal use. Furness Building Society and Hodge allow up to 90 days a year, and Principality allows up to 2 months a year, according to criteria checked in October 2026.
How much can I borrow on a holiday let mortgage?
Lenders work from the expected rent. Using Principality's published method, weekly rents of £700, £500 and £300 give £15,000 a year over 30 weeks. At 145% cover that supports an interest-only loan of about £188,000 at a 5.5% stress rate, or £129,310 at the 8% stress rate in Principality's own example.
Can I get a holiday let mortgage through a limited company?
Some lenders allow it. Cumberland Building Society accepts limited companies with a 125% rental cover test, while Leeds Building Society does not, according to criteria checked in October 2026. HMRC says companies are not subject to the finance cost restriction that limits mortgage interest relief for individuals.
What changed for holiday let tax in April 2025?
HMRC abolished the furnished holiday lettings tax regime from 6 April 2025 for income tax and capital gains tax, and from 1 April 2025 for corporation tax. HMRC says individuals now get relief on mortgage interest at the 20% basic rate only, the same as other landlords.
Can I let my home on Airbnb with a normal mortgage?
Not without checking first. Nationwide says you need its permission before letting your property and adds 0.5% to your rate while the home is let. Santander's May 2026 consent-to-let conditions allow holiday lets with stays of up to 4 weeks.
Is a holiday let mortgage regulated by the FCA?
The FCA's guidance on buy-to-let lending does not mention holiday lets by name. Ask the lender or broker whether a product is regulated, because that decides which FCA mortgage rules apply.
Get holiday let mortgage updates
Lender criteria and rates change often. Leave your email and we'll send you a short note when the figures on this page change.
Guestwise is not a mortgage broker and does not give mortgage advice. We'll only use your email for these updates, and you can unsubscribe any time. Privacy policy.
Related guides
Sources
- HMRC: abolition of the furnished holiday lettings tax regime
- HMRC: clarification on the abolition
- HMRC Capital Gains Manual CG73505
- Leeds Building Society: holiday let mortgages
- Leeds Building Society: lending criteria
- Cumberland Building Society: holiday let criteria, May 2026
- Principality Building Society: holiday let criteria
- Furness Building Society: lending criteria
- Hodge: holiday let mortgages
- Moneyfacts: holiday let deals bounce back, January 2023
- Scottish Government: short-term lets guidance, control areas
- Moneyfacts: holiday let deals rise, August 2024
- Nationwide: letting your property
- Santander: consent to let conditions, May 2026
- FCA Handbook PERG 4.10B: buy-to-let lending
- FCA Handbook PERG 4.5: introducers
- GOV.UK: letting out a self-catering holiday home in England
- Business Wales: non-domestic rates for self-catering properties
- Welsh Government: council tax on empty and second homes
- Scottish Government: short-term lets licensing guidance
This is general information, not mortgage, financial or tax advice. Lender criteria and rates are as published on the dates shown and change often. Speak to an FCA-authorised mortgage broker and a tax adviser before you act.